March 9th, 2022

Dear Colleagues,

I write to announce the launch of a national search for the <u>Dean of the School of Education</u> (<u>SOE</u>) at UC Riverside. The search officially launched on Monday, March 7, and we are encouraging prospective candidates to submit their materials no later than April 18. The executive search firm WittKieffer will provide support for this critical search. Should you wish to submit candidate nominations, please do so via email to <u>ucr-educationdean@wittkieffer.com</u>. We hope to bring finalist candidates for campus visits in late May. Updates will be available throughout the search process on the <u>Executive Searches site</u>, and Louie Rodriguez will continue serving as Interim Dean until a new dean is appointed.

As some of you may know, former School of Education Dean Thomas M. Smith has decided to return to the faculty full time after concluding his leave on July 1, 2022. Tom has served the campus admirably since 2014 as Dean, interim vice chancellor for student affairs, interim provost, and special advisor to the chancellor, at times under very challenging circumstances. He led the successful creation of a thriving undergraduate degree program in education, significantly grew the research portfolio in the School of Education, led the campus effort to develop strategies that enabled us to reach the 2:1 freshman: transfer admissions threshold, helped to stabilize the Student Affairs division after a tumultuous period, and guided the campus through more than a year of pandemic-related challenges. We will miss his calm and collaborative leadership style and are grateful for his numerous contributions as a member of the senior leadership team.

I also want to take this opportunity to thank the members of the Search Advisory Committee, listed below, and especially Dean Anil Deolalikar for serving as Chair.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth Watkins, PhD
Provost & Executive Vice Chancellor

Search Advisory Committee

Anil Deolalikar, Dean of the School of Public Policy and Professor of Economics (Chair) Karen Dodson, Supervisor of Teacher Education

Uma Jayakumar, Associate Professor in School of Education

Rita Kohli, Associate Professor of Education (Equity Advisor and Affirmative Action Compliance Liaison)

Austin Johnson, Associate Professor in School of Education Covadonga Lamar-Prieto, Associate Professor of Hispanic Studies, CHASS

Kelly Kraus-Lee, Director of Development, Education & Policy for the School of Education

Marsha Ing, Associate Professor in School of Education
Ken Noller, Advisory Board Member, School of Education
Julie Porter, Director of Marketing and Communications, School of Education
Raquel Rall, Assistant Professor in School of Education
Ariana Romero, Graduate Student
Jasmine Salas, Academic Personnel and Human Resources Director, School of Education
Katherine Stavropoulos, Assistant Professor in School of Education
Brenda Valdez-Gutierrez, Undergraduate Student
Frances Valdovinos, Assistant Dean and Director of TEP
Beverly Young, Advisory Board Member, School of Education
Jingsong Zhang, Professor of Chemistry, CNAS